The Secret Starling  


The Secret Starling
Candlewick Press | June 8, 2021 | 256 pages
ISBN: 9781536213652

A tattered ballet slipper found under the floorboards of Braithwaite Manor may be the key to Clara's sinister family secrets in this delightful, lightly Gothic mystery for fans of Maryrose Wood and Claire Legrand. Clara Starling lives a life of dull rules, deadly routine, and flavorless meals under her cold uncle's strict regime--until the day Uncle disappears, leaving Clara alone in his old mansion. When streetwise orphan Peter and his rescue cat arrive unexpectedly, the children seize the chance to live by their own rules.