The Liar's Dictionary  


The Liar's Dictionary
Vintage Books Canada | November 9, 2021 | 288 pages
ISBN: 9780735281516

NATIONAL BESTSELLER A clever and funny debut novel chronicling the misadventures of a lovelorn Victorian lexicographer and the young woman who decodes his trail of made-up words a century later. For fans of CS Richardson, Helen Simonson's Major Pettigrew and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Mountweazel n. the phenomenon of false entries within dictionaries and works of reference. Often used as a safeguard against copyright infringement. Peter Winceworth is a lexicographer in Victorian-era London, toiling away at the letter S for a multi-volume Encyclopedic Dictionary.