The Insiders  


The Insiders
HarperCollins | September 21, 2021 | 384 pages
ISBN: 9780063008106

Three kids who don't belong. A room that shouldn't exist. A year that will change everything. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Meg Medina, this debut middle grade novel from award-winning author Mark Oshiro is a hopeful and heartfelt coming-of-age story for anyone who's ever felt like they didn't fit in. San Francisco and Orangevale may be in the same state, but for Héctor Muñoz, they might as well be a million miles apart. Back home, being gay didn't mean feeling different. At Héctor's new school, he couldn't feel more alone. Most days, Héctor just wishes he could disappear.