Books published by Tundra Books (NY)

Tales from the Inner City

Tundra Books (NY) | October 23, 2018 | 224 pages
The visionary Shaun Tan returns to show us the soul-opening work he's been doing for the past five years.  More Info

Go Show the World

Tundra Books (NY) | September 11, 2018 | 40 pages
"We are a people who matter." Inspired by President Barack Obama's Of Thee I Sing, Go Show the World is a tribute to historic and modern-day Indigenous heroes, featuring important figures such as Tecumseh, Sacagawea and former NASA astronaut John Herrington. Celebrating the stories of Indigenous... More Info

Julia, Child

Tundra Books (NY) | March 6, 2018 | 32 pages
Julia and Simca are two young friends who agree that you can never use too much butter -- and that it is best to be a child forever. Sharing a love of cooking and having no wish to turn into big, busy people who worry too much and dawdle too little, they decide to create a feast for growing and... More Info

This Is Sadie

Tundra Books (NY) | March 6, 2018 | 30 pages
Now in board book, the beloved story about a little girl with a big imagination from the award-winning team of Sara O'Leary and Julie Morstad. Sadie is a little girl with a big imagination. She has been a girl who lived under the sea and a boy raised by wolves. She has had adventures in wonderland... More Info

Optimists Die First

Tundra Books (NY) | February 20, 2018 | 240 pages
This touching, hilarious tragi-comedy by award-winning author Susin Nielsen proves: Life is out to get you. But so is love. A quirky alternative to the "sick lit" genre for YA readers. Petula's funny, and a crafting genius, but no social star at high school, and it doesn't help that she's isolated... More Info

Sakura's Cherry Blossoms

Tundra Books (NY) | February 20, 2018 | 40 pages
"Sakura's dad gets a new job in America, so she and her parents make the move from their home in Japan. When she arrives in the States, most of all she misses her grandmother and the cherry blossom trees, under which she and her grandmother used to play and picnic. She wonders how she'll ever feel... More Info

Petra

Tundra Books (NY) | February 6, 2018 | 48 pages
Is Petra a mountain? An egg? An island? Who knows! She's a rock and this is how she rolls.  More Info

Tilly and Tank

Tundra Books (NY) | January 9, 2018 | 48 pages
Tilly and Tank is a story about making friends, not war. When Tank is alarmed by Tilly he goes BOOM, scaring Tilly off. However, Tilly then returns with a flower, showing that they are not enemies after all. Jay Fleck is a designer and illustrator, and Tilly and Tank is the first book he's written... More Info

From the Heart of Africa

Tundra Books (NY) | January 2, 2018 | 40 pages
Aphorisms are universal. They give guidance, context and instruction for life's issues, and they help us understand each other and the world around us. We use them every day, yet never think about where they came from or why they exist. In this beautifully illustrated collection, Eric Walters... More Info
$22.99

The Pink Umbrella

Tundra Books (NY) | January 2, 2018 | 80 pages
Perfect for fans of Am�lie, this is a charming story about the power of friendship, love and pink polka dots to turn rainy days into sunny ones and sadness into joy. When it's bright outside, Adele is the heart of her community, greeting everyone who comes into her caf� with arms wide open. But... More Info

The Bad Mood and the Stick

Tundra Books (NY) | October 3, 2017 | 48 pages
New York Times bestselling author Lemony Snicket sheds light on the way bad moods come and go. Once there was a bad mood and a stick. The stick appeared when a tree dropped it. Where did the bad mood come from? Who picked up the stick? And where is the bad mood off to now? You never know what is... More Info

When the Moon Comes

Tundra Books (NY) | September 12, 2017 | 40 pages
In this atmospheric story, a group of kids play hockey on a frozen lake by moonlight. At once nostalgic and timely, this is a gorgeous book that will speak to readers young and old. The beaver flood has finally frozen--perfect ice, without a bump or a ripple. For the kids in town, it's Christmas in... More Info

Smoot

Tundra Books (NY) | September 12, 2017 | 48 pages
A brave shadow finds a more colorful life in this joyous picture book by the acclaimed author of The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles and illustrator of Sidewalk Flowers. Smoot the shadow has been living a yawn-filled life for years. His boy never laughs and never leaps, so Smoot never does either . . .... More Info

How to Make Friends with a Ghost

Tundra Books (NY) | September 5, 2017 | 40 pages
What do you do when you meet a ghost? One: Provide the ghost with some of its favorite snacks, like mud tarts and earwax truffles. Two: Tell your ghost bedtime stories (ghosts love to be read to). Three: Make sure no one mistakes your ghost for whipped cream or a marshmallow when you aren't... More Info

Carson Crosses Canada

Tundra Books (NY) | May 30, 2017 | 32 pages
From the author of If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur comes a funny and sweet cross-country roadtrip adventure with a sassy septuagenarian and her quirky canine. Feisty Annie Magruder and her dog, Carson, live in British Columbia, Canada, and they're setting out to visit her sister, Elsie, in... More Info

Counting with Barefoot Critters

Tundra Books (NY) | August 9, 2016 | 32 pages
"What is a day of counting with Barefoot Critters? Making pancakes, helping friends, exploring, swimming, playing pirates, learning about numbers! Join this adorable cast of animal characters as they explore numbers and counting over the course of a day, having fun at all stops along the... More Info

So What Should Dad Be?

Tundra Books (NY) | April 4, 2017 | 32 pages
A celebration of the best kind of dad: the kind that's willing to join in the fun. A gang of mythical creatures is roaming around a magical land having a great time, until Bigfoot gets his foot stuck in a tree trunk and Unicorn gets her horn impaled on a table and Robot's saw-arm gets rusted into... More Info

Goodbye Days

Tundra Books (NY) | March 7, 2017 | 288 pages
Fans of "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" and "Looking for Alaska" will love this heartbreaking and at times humorous look into one teen s life after the death of his best friends. Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and... More Info

A Soldier's Sketchbook

Tundra Books (NY) | March 7, 2017 | 112 pages
Russell Rabjohn was just eighteen years old when he joined up to fight in the First World War. In his three years of soldiering, he experienced the highs and lows of army life, from a carefree leave in Paris to the anguish of seeing friends die around him. Like many soldiers, he defied army... More Info

The Optimists Die First

Tundra Books (NY) | February 21, 2017 | 240 pages
Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider s "Extraordinary Means" and Cammie McGovern s "Say What You Will." Beware: Life ahead. Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life,... More Info

A Northern Alphabet

Tundra Books (NY) | March 7, 2017 | 28 pages
Available now in board book format for the first time, A Northern Alphabet is an early introduction to the letters by way of all things northern: the landscape, the people, and the flora and fauna. From A for anorak and B for bear to Q for quilt and Z for zinc mine, in these pages, children... More Info

Innocent Heroes

Tundra Books (NY) | February 14, 2017 | 208 pages
A unique celebration of the important role animals play in war, and an insightful look at the taking of Vimy Ridge from the perspective of 3 men in a Canadian platoon. Never before have the stories of animal war heroes been collected in such a special way. This book consists of eight connected... More Info

Count Your Chickens

Tundra Books (NY) | February 7, 2017 | 32 pages
Chickens, chickens everywhere -- going to the county fair! Follow a family of chickens as they prepare for their big outing. You'll see chickens wondering what to wear, baking pies, painting their toes and knitting socks. A stroll through town reveals that everyone else is excited for the... More Info

Little Blue Chair

Tundra Books (NY) | January 24, 2017 | 40 pages
Boo's favorite chair is little and blue. He sits in it, reads in it and makes a tent around it...until the day he grows too big for it. His mother puts the little blue chair out on the lawn where a truck driver picks it up. The truck driver sells it to a lady in a junk store where it sits for many... More Info

Clean Sweep!

Tundra Books (NY) | January 3, 2017 | 32 pages
When Frank Zamboni, along with his brother and cousin, opened their own skating rink in 1940 in Paramount, California, it could take an hour and a half for a crew to resurface the ice. They had to level the surface by shaving down the pits and grooves with a tractor, remove the shavings, wash the... More Info

The Secret Fiend

Tundra Books (NY) | August 14, 2012 | 260 pages
When a fawning Beatrice reports that her friend has been abducted by Spring-Heeled Jack, young Sherlock Holmes is reluctant to believe her story until suspicious clues point to some of his close friends.  More Info

The Boston Breakout

Tundra Books (NY) | October 14, 2014 | 162 pages
The Screech Owls are in Boston for the Paul Revere Peewee Invitational. Nish decides to drop out of school. If it worked for Ben Franklin, it will work for him. Sarah becomes increasingly concerned about Samantha's attraction to a group of protesters demanding that the New England Aquarium "Free... More Info

What We Hide

Tundra Books (NY) | April 8, 2014 | 288 pages
Told from multiple viewpoints, high school Junior Jenny of Philadelphia spends a semester at a Quaker boarding school in Sheffield, England, near where her brother is avoiding the Vietnam draft, and where everyone carries close-held secrets.  More Info

Hijacked

Tundra Books (NY) | August 6, 2013 | 192 pages
Most people believe that it's natural to gain a lot of weight as we get older. But this is not true. Kessler knows it's not true because until about 30 years ago, we did not have a weight problem in North America. In fact, throughout history, the human body weight stayed pretty much the same.... More Info

The Nose from Jupiter

Tundra Books (NY) | April 4, 1998 | 160 pages
Alan Dingwall remembers how living with Norbert, an alien from Jupiter who lives in his nose and talks in a squeaky voice, affected his relationships with his mother, his friends, and especially the bullies on a rival soccer team  More Info