Books published by Signal Books

Pumpkinflowers

Signal Books | April 18, 2017 | 256 pages
"It was small hilltop in a small, unnamed war in the late 1990s, but it would send out ripples that continue to emanate worldwide today. The hill was called the Pumpkin; flowers was the military code word for "casualties." Friedman's visceral narrative recreates harrowing wartime experiences in a... More Info

Ice Ghosts

Signal Books | March 21, 2017 | 416 pages
The true story of the greatest mystery of Arctic exploration-and the rare mix of marine science and Inuit knowledge that led to the shipwreck's recent discovery. Ice Ghosts weaves together the epic story of the Franklin Expedition-whose two ships and crew of 129 were lost to the Arctic ice-with the... More Info
$29.95

The Course of Love

Signal Books | July 5, 2016 | 240 pages
In Edinburgh, a couple, Rabih and Kirsten, fall in love. They get married, they have children -- but no relationship is as simple as "happily ever after." The Course of Love is a novel that explores what happens after the birth of love, what it takes to maintain love, and what happens to our... More Info

Gun, Baby, Gun

Signal Books | March 22, 2016 | 368 pages
A "riveting," "relentlessly engrossing," and "brilliantly researched" investigation of the life of the gun -- its manufacture, its sale, and its impact -- and of our world's hugely complex relationship with firearms. In some places of the world, getting a gun is easier than getting a glass of... More Info

No Place to Hide

Signal Books | April 28, 2015 | 304 pages
"An indispensable book for anyone who cares about the future of privacy, not just in the United States but throughout the world...." National Post Investigative reporter for The Guardian and bestselling author Glenn Greenwald provides an in-depth look into the NSA scandal that has triggered a... More Info

Flight of the Eagle

Signal Books | May 20, 2014 | 768 pages
Now available as a Signal paperback, a strategic history of the United States by the bestselling author of biographies of Roosevelt and Nixon. In this magisterial new history of the United States, spanning from the New World through the outcome of the 2012 presidential election, acclaimed writer... More Info

Two Days in June

Signal Books | November 11, 2014 | 320 pages
Two Days in June is a mesmerizing hour-by-hour account that takes us into the Kennedy White House during the 48 hours that he delivered his two most significant speeches -- ultimately changing the course of history. Two Days in June is the story of the high noon of the presidency of John Fitzgerald... More Info

Sapiens

Signal Books | October 28, 2014 | 464 pages
Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species... More Info

Makers

Signal Books | April 8, 2014 | 272 pages
Now available in paperback, an examination of the zeitgeist of both the exploding entrepreneurial movement and the concern about the economy tilted too heavily toward services and other intangibles -- by a leading technology expert, and bestselling author of The Long Tail. What happens when DIY... More Info

Iron Curtain

Signal Books | August 13, 2013 | 640 pages
In the long-awaited National Book Award--shortlisted follow-up to her Pulitzer Prize--winning Gulag, acclaimed journalist Anne Applebaum delivers a groundbreaking history of how Communism took over Central Europe after WW II and transformed in frightening fashion the individuals who came under its... More Info

Lawrence in Arabia

Signal Books | August 6, 2013 | 592 pages
The Arab Revolt against the Turks in World War I was, in the words of T.E. Lawrence, "a sideshow to a sideshow." As a result, the conflict was shaped to a remarkable degree by four men far removed from the corridors of power. Curt Pruefer was an effete academic attached to the German embassy in... More Info

Sugar, Salt, Fat

Signal Books | March 12, 2013 | 352 pages
From a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter atThe New York Timescomes the troubling story of the rise of the processed food industry -- and how it used salt, sugar, and fat to addict us. Sugar, Salt, Fatis a journey into the highly secretive world of the processed food giants, and the... More Info

Bad Pharma

Signal Books | February 5, 2013 | 448 pages
We all feel uncomfortable about the role of profit in healthcare, we all have a vague notion that the global $600bn pharmaceutical industry is somehow evil and untrustworthy, but that sense rarely goes beyond a flaky, undifferentiated new age worldview.Bad Pharmaputs real flesh on those bones,... More Info

Soldaten

Signal Books | September 7, 2012 | 448 pages
On a visit to the British National Archive in 2001, Sonke Neitzel made a remarkable discovery: reams of meticulously transcribed conversations among German POWs that had been covertly recorded and recently declassified. Netizel would later find another collection of transcriptions, twice as... More Info
$26.99

In Other Worlds

Signal Books | October 11, 2011 | 272 pages
At a time when speculative fiction seems less and less far-fetched, Margaret Atwood lends her distinctive voice and singular point of view to the genre in a series of essays that brilliantly illuminates the essential truths about the modern world.  More Info

Beyond Religion

Signal Books | October 23, 2012 | 208 pages
In his "fascinating approach to moral guidance in an age of technological globalization and multicultural societies,"(L.A. Times) the Dalai Lama, honored in 1989 with the Nobel Peace Prize, and spiritual light for followers of Tibetan Buddism, argues that humanity does not need religion to lead a... More Info

Arguably

Signal Books | September 4, 2012 | 816 pages
For nearly four decades, Christopher Hitchens has been telling us, in pitch-perfect prose, what we confront when we grapple with first principles -- the principles of reason and tolerance and skepticism that define and inform the foundations of our civilization -- principles that, to endure, must... More Info

Arguably

Signal Books | September 6, 2011 | 816 pages
From one of the most admired public intellectuals of our time, and a multi-award winning and #1 bestselling author, comes a collection of his most important and controversial essays on the theme of culture and politics and how the two relate.  More Info

Mortality

Signal Books | September 4, 2012 | 128 pages
Based on his columns inVanity Fairthat chronicled his year-and-a-half battle with esophageal cancer,Mortalityis Christopher Hitchens at his most honest and reflective . Thoughtfully meditating on the harrowing effects of illness and treatment on the body, and on the impermanence and acceptance of a... More Info

In Other Worlds

Signal Books | August 21, 2012 | 272 pages
In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imaginationis Margaret Atwood's account of her relationship with the literary form we have come to know as "science fiction." This relationship has been lifelong, stretching from her days as a child reader in the 1940s, through her time as a graduate student at... More Info

Beyond Religion

Signal Books | December 6, 2011 | 208 pages
A bracing and essential modern-day polemic from His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Beyond Religionis a blueprint for all those who yearn for a life of spiritual fulfillment as they work for a better world. This is HHDL's new model for mutual respect and understanding - rooted in our shared humanity -... More Info