Books published by Fourth Estate

Dead Now of Course

Fourth Estate | July 27, 2017 | 128 pages
'My future mother-in-law burst into tears when she heard her son was to marry an actress. There's still something disturbing, I grant you, about the word "actress". If an MP or some other outstanding person plays fast and loose with an actress the world is unsurprised. She is certainly no better... More Info
$21.99

Modern Gods

Fourth Estate | June 1, 2017 | 320 pages
A powerful, thought-provoking novel about two sisters who must reclaim themselves after their lives are dramatically upended from one of our finest authors  More Info
$21.99

The Less You Know the Sounder You Sleep

Fourth Estate | June 15, 2017 | 448 pages
Based on a true story, The Less You Know the Sounder You Sleep is a tale of survival and self-determination, innocence and lies.  More Info
$21.00

The Memory Trap

Fourth Estate | May 16, 2017 | 352 pages
Winner of the 2015 Melbourne Prize Best Writing Award. A novel about memory, music, friendship, family rifts and reconciliation, this is a beautiful, intelligent read. Nina Jameson, an international consultant on memorial projects based in London, has been happily married to Daniel for twelve... More Info
$21.00

After Before Time

Fourth Estate | June 6, 2017 | 320 pages
Stories of life from a remote Aboriginal community that sing with vivid and simple life, truth and power. At the end of 2008, Robbi Neal and her family travelled to the other end of mainland Australia to a remote Aboriginal community. They planned to stay for twelve months. Seven years later, they... More Info
$19.99

Standard Deviation

Fourth Estate | May 23, 2017 | 320 pages
The celebrated author of Single, Carefree, Mellow, returns with her debut novel - a rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie... More Info
$21.99

Reservoir 13

Fourth Estate | April 6, 2017 | 336 pages
From the award-winning author of If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things and Even the Dogs. Reservoir 13 tells the story of many lives haunted by one family's loss. Midwinter in the early years of this century. A teenage girl on holiday has gone missing in the hills at the heart of England. The... More Info

The Lucky Culture and the Rise of an Australian Ruling Class

Fourth Estate | November 21, 2017 | 368 pages
Countries don′t get lucky; people do. THE LUCKY CULTURE tells the story of Australian exceptionalism, the unique national quality that transformed a raw, unbroken continent into the great civilisation of the south.  More Info

Munnu

Fourth Estate | June 4, 2015 | 288 pages
A beautifully drawn graphic novel that illuminates the conflicted land of Kashmir, through a young boy s childhood. Seven-year-old Munnu is growing up in Indian-administered Kashmir. Life revolves around his family: Mama, Papa, sister Shahnaz, brothers Adil and Akhtar and, his favourite, older... More Info

What's Wrong with Processed Food?

Fourth Estate | February 22, 2015 | 300 pages
From the author of What to Eat and Shopped, a revelatory investigation into what really goes into the food we eat.Even with 25 years experience as a journalist and investigator of the food chain, Joanna Blythman still felt she had unanswered questions about the food we consume every day. How... More Info

The Golden Notebook

Fourth Estate | September 1, 2012 | 576 pages
The landmark novel of the Sixties a powerful account of a woman searching for her personal, political and professional identity while facing rejection and betrayal. In 1950s London, novelist Anna Wulf struggles with writer's block. Divorced with a young child, and fearful of going mad, Anna records... More Info

You Can't Read This Book

Fourth Estate | September 17, 2013 | 330 pages
The uncompromising Nick Cohen exposes the reality behind the freedoms we enjoy in the book that won Polemic of the Year at the 2013 Political Book Awards.  More Info

Idiopathy

Fourth Estate | April 25, 2013 | 300 pages
This bitterly humorous debut is a novel of love, narcissism, and ailing cattle.  More Info

Cameron

Fourth Estate Classic House | June 1, 2012 | 532 pages
A fully updated edition of the first major biography of David Cameron, now covering his first year as Prime Minister and leader of the coalition government David Cameron emerged as the first Tory leader in years to come across as a man of the people, an ordinary man in a traditionally reviled... More Info

Fish Man

Fourth Estate | August 1, 2012 | 469 pages
The powerful new novel from Susan Fletcher, award-winning author of the bestselling Eve Green and Oystercatchers.  More Info

The God Species

Fourth Estate | March 26, 2012 | 288 pages
The green movement has got it very wrong. Nature no longer controls our planet it is humanity, 'the god species', that must save the environment we have inflicted unprecedented damage upon. And the tools we must use are the very technologies that environmentalist have told us for years will spell... More Info