Books published by Amistad

Eye On the Struggle

Amistad | February 7, 2017 | 496 pages
No summary available.

The Original Black Elite

Amistad | January 31, 2017 | 464 pages
In this outstanding cultural biography, the author of the New York Times bestseller A Slave in the White House chronicles a critical yet overlooked chapter in American history: the inspiring rise and calculated fall of the black elite, from Emancipation through Reconstruction to the Jim Crow... More Info
$8.50

Gone Crazy in Alabama

Amistad | September 6, 2016 | 320 pages
Coretta Scott King Award winner * ALA Notable Book * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * Washington Post Best Books of the Year * The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s... More Info

Honey, I Love

Amistad | January 26, 2016 | 32 pages
Honey, I Love by the Coretta Scott King Award-winning team Eloise Greenfield and Jan Spivey Gilchrist is now in paperback! To one young narrator, it's the simple things that mean the most, like sharing laughter with a friend, taking family rides in the country, and kissing her mama's arm. This... More Info

God Loves Haiti

Amistad | February 2, 2016 | 272 pages
A native of Haiti, Dimitry Elias Léger makes his remarkable debut with this story of romance, politics, and religion that traces the fates of three lovers in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and the challenges they face readjusting to life after an earthquake devastates their city. Reflecting the chaos of... More Info

Muhammad Ali

Amistad | January 26, 2016 | 40 pages
New York Times bestselling author Walter Dean Myers explores Muhammad Ali’s life and recounts his most famous fights in this celebrated picture book biography. Myers examines the depth and complexity of the larger-than-life legend and heavyweight champion of the world, and the bold, vibrant art... More Info

In the Land of Words

Amistad | January 26, 2016 | 48 pages
This treasured poetry collection by Coretta Scott King Award-winning collaborators Eloise Greenfield and Jan Spivey Gilchrist journeys to a place where words, creativity, and imagination abound. Featuring twenty-one poems illustrated with sewn fabric collages, this tribute to the written word... More Info

Monster: A Graphic Novel

Amistad | October 13, 2015 | 160 pages
A stunning black-and-white graphic novel adaptation of Walter Dean Myers's Michael L. Printz Award winner and New York Times bestseller Monster, adapted by Guy Sims and illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile Monster is a multi-award-winning, provocative coming-of-age story about Steve Harmon, a teenager... More Info

Spectacle

Amistad | June 2, 2015 | 320 pages
An award-winning journalist reveals a little-known and shameful episode in American history, when an African man was used as a zoo exhibit—a shocking story of racial prejudice, science, and tragedy in the early years of the twentieth century. Ota Benga, a young Congolese man, was featured as an... More Info

Gone Crazy in Alabama

Amistad | April 21, 2015 | 304 pages
Newbery Honor winner and New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of the Gaither sisters, who are about to learn what it's like to be fish out of water as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime. Delphine, Vonetta, and... More Info

One Crazy Summer

Amistad | December 27, 2011 | 240 pages
After travelling from Brooklyn to Oakland, California, to spend a month with the mother they barely know, Delphine and her two sisters discover that their mother, a dedicated poet, wants them to attend a nearby Black Panther summer camp.  More Info

Harlem Renaissance Party

Amistad | January 27, 2015 | 40 pages
Caldecott Honor artist Faith Ringgold takes readers on an unforgettable journey through the Harlem Renaissance when Lonnie and his uncle Bates go back to Harlem in the 1920s. Along the way, they meet famous writers, musicians, artists, and athletes, from Langston Hughes and W.E.B. Du Bois to... More Info

Ida B. Wells

Amistad | January 27, 2015 | 40 pages
Ida B. Wells was an extraordinary woman. Long before boycotts, sit-ins, and freedom rides, Ida B. Wells was hard at work to better the lives of African Americans. An activist, educator, writer, journalist, suffragette, and pioneering voice against the horror of lynching, she used fierce... More Info

Mahalia Jackson

Amistad | January 27, 2015 | 32 pages
Accompanied by John Holyfield's gorgeous illustrations, debut author Nina Nolan's narrative wonderfully captures the amazing story of how Mahalia Jackson became the Queen of Gospel in this fascinating picture book biography. Even as a young girl, Mahalia Jackson loved gospel music. Life was... More Info

God Loves Haiti

Amistad | January 6, 2015 | 272 pages
A native of Haiti, Dimitry Elias Léger makes his remarkable debut with this story of romance, politics, and religion that traces the fates of three lovers in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and the challenges they face readjusting to life after an earthquake devastates their city. Reflecting the chaos of... More Info

Darius & Twig

Amistad | April 22, 2014 | 224 pages
New York Times bestselling author of Monster and current National Ambassador of Young People's Literature, Walter Dean Myers, says, "You cannot live someone else's dream. Darius & Twig is about needing to live your own dream." Darius is a writer, struggling to find his own way to stand out.... More Info

My Daddy, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Amistad | August 6, 2013 | 32 pages
What was it like growing up as a son of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.? This picture book memoir, My Daddy, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by Martin Luther King III, provides insight into one of history’s most fascinating families and into a special bond between father and son. “I have a dream that... More Info

P.S. Be Eleven

Amistad | May 21, 2013 | 288 pages
A sequel to One Crazy Summer finds the Gaither sisters returning to Brooklyn, where they adapt to new feelings of independence while managing changes large and small, from Pa's new girlfriend to a very different Uncle Darnell's return from Vietnam. 50,000 first printing.  More Info

Southern Cross the Dog

Amistad | May 7, 2013 | 336 pages
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor, Bill Cheng’s Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the... More Info

A Man for All Seasons

Amistad | May 6, 2008 | 32 pages
Profiles the African American scientist George Washington Carver, who not only put the peanut on the map, but was also one of the first advocates of recycling.  More Info

In the Land of Milk and Honey

Amistad | September 18, 2012 | 32 pages
I ease myself back in the window seat and breathe in as the train breathes out We're on our way! On our way to the Land of Milk and Honey Lemons as big as oranges, the cool Pacific Ocean, mountains that rise up beyond the outstretched bay—California beckons as one girl makes her way west on a... More Info

American Tapestry

Amistad | June 19, 2012 | 400 pages
Illuminating the lives of the ordinary people who fought for freedom in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, this intimate family history traces the compelling story of Michelle Obama's ancestors, taking readers on a journey from slavery to the White House in five generations that bears witness to our... More Info

A Cupboard Full of Coats

Amistad | July 31, 2012 | 272 pages
Shortlisted for the Commonwealth Prize A Kirkus Best Book of the Year Plagued by guilt, paralyzed by shame, Jinx has spent the years since her mother's death alone, estranged from her husband, withdrawn from her son, and entrenched in a childhood home filled with fierce and violent memories. When... More Info

Don't Know Much About Martin Luther King Jr.

Amistad | December 27, 2005 | 144 pages
Learn about the life of the great civil rights leader.  More Info

Lift Every Voice and Sing

Amistad | October 16, 2007 | 32 pages
Provides an illustrated version of the song that has come to be considered the African-American national anthem, a song written in 1900 to celebrate Abraham Lincoln's birthday. 40,000 first printing.  More Info