Books written by Richard Wagamese

$19.95

Starlight

May 21, 2019 | 256 pages
From the beloved, bestselling author of Indian Horse and Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese's final novel is a rapturous and profoundly moving story of love, compassion, mercy, and the consolations to be found in the natural world. Frank Starlight has long settled into a quiet life working his remote... More Info

Starlight

August 14, 2018 | 256 pages
The final novel from Richard Wagamese, the bestselling and beloved author of Indian Horse and Medicine Walk, centres on an abused woman on the run who finds refuge on a farm owned by an Indigenous man with wounds of his own. A profoundly moving novel about the redemptive power of love, mercy, and... More Info

Ragged Company

Anchor Books | July 21, 2019 | 384 pages
Four chronically homeless people–Amelia One Sky, Timber, Double Dick and Digger–seek refuge in a warm movie theatre when a severe Arctic Front descends on the city. During what is supposed to be a one-time event, this temporary refuge transfixes them. They fall in love with this new world, and... More Info

Medicine Walk

Emblem Editions | March 3, 2015 | 256 pages
"One of the finest novels of the year." (Vancouver Sun) By the celebrated author of Canada Reads finalist Indian Horse, this is an unforgettable journey of a father and son, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac... More Info

Keeper'n Me

Anchor Books | July 21, 2019 | 322 pages
When Garnet Raven was three years old, he was taken from his home on an Ojibway Indian reserve and placed in a series of foster homes. Having reached his mid-teens, he escapes at the first available opportunity, only to find himself cast adrift on the streets of the big city. Having skirted the... More Info

Him Standing

Orca Book Publishers | April 1, 2013 | 136 pages
Commissioned to carve a spirit mask for a mysterious stranger, Lucas Smoke finds his life controlled by disturbing nightmares of his client, an ancient sorcerer named Him Standing, who endeavors to emerge from the dream world.  More Info

One Native Life

Douglas & McIntyre Limited | July 14, 2009 | 257 pages
One Native Lifeis Richard Wagamese’s look back at the long road he traveled in reclaiming his identity. It's about the things he's learned as a human being, a man, and an Ojibway. Whether he's writing about playing baseball, running away with the circus, listening to the wind, or meeting Johnny... More Info

One Story, One Song

Douglas & McIntyre Ltd | April 1, 2011 | 272 pages
A new collection of warm, wise and inspiring stories from the author of the bestselling One Native Life. Since its publication in 2008, readers and reviewers have embraced Richard Wagamese’s One Native Life. “In quiet tones and luminous language,” wrote the Winnipeg Free Press, “Wagamese... More Info
$21.95

Indian Horse

Douglas & McIntyre | February 11, 2012 | 232 pages
A magical new novel from the bestselling author of One Native Life Saul Indian Horse is dying. Tucked away in a hospice high above the clash and clang of a big city, he embarks on a marvellous journey of imagination back through the life he led as a northern Ojibway, with all its sorrows and joys.... More Info

Runaway Dreams

Ronsdale Press | September 1, 2011 | 129 pages
Poetry. Native American Studies. Having developed an impressive reputation for his many novels and nonfiction works, Richard Wagamese now presents a collection of stunning poems ranging over a broad landscape. He begins with an immersion in the unforgettable world where "the ancient ones stand at... More Info

One Native Life

Douglas & McIntyre Ltd | October 1, 2008 | 257 pages
In 2005, award-winning writer Richard Wagamesemoved with his partner to a cabin outside Kamloops, B.C. In the crisp mountain air Wagamesefelt a peace he'd seldom known before. Abused and abandoned as a kid, he'd grown up feeling there was nowhere he belonged. For years, only alcohol and moves from... More Info