Books written by Chris Hedges

$32.99

Unspeakable

October 11, 2016 | 208 pages
Chris Hedges on the most taboo topics in America, with David Talbot. The War on Terror is a profitable crusade against convenient enemies. Muslim rage is an understandable response to US state terror. Rising oligarchy in America has made democracy a sham and turned the electoral process into an... More Info

Wages of Rebellion

Vintage Canada | March 1, 2016 |
#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER For bestseller and Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges, we are once again riding the crest of a revolutionary epic, much like 1848 or 1917, from the Arab Spring to movements against austerity in Greece to the Occupy movement. From the vantage point of a world on the edge, "... More Info

The Sustainability Secret

Earth Aware Editions | October 1, 2015 | 256 pages
The groundbreaking 2014 documentary Cowspiracy presents shocking truths about the effects of industrial animal agriculture on the planet. The leading cause of deforestation, rainforest destruction, greenhouse gas production, water consumption and pollution, habitat loss, species extinction, ocean... More Info

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Vintage Canada | June 11, 2013 | 320 pages
With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began. In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel... More Info
$19.95

Death of the Liberal Class

Vintage Canada | August 30, 2011 | 256 pages
The liberal class plays a vital role in a democracy. It gives moral legitimacy to the state. It makes limited forms of dissent and incremental change possible. The liberal class posits itself as the conscience of the nation. It permits us, through its appeal to public virtues and the public good,... More Info
$19.95

Empire of Illusion

Vintage Canada | August 24, 2010 | 240 pages
Pulitzer prizewinner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion. Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can... More Info

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

June 19, 2012 | 320 pages
With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began. In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel... More Info

The World As It Is

April 12, 2011 | 350 pages
Explores the American empire at home and abroad, looking at everything from the ill effects of the War on Terror to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. By the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning.  More Info

Death of the Liberal Class

November 29, 2011 | 256 pages
Asserts that the liberal class has failed to confront the rise of the corporate state and argues that the five parts of the liberal establishment--the press, liberal religious institutions, unions, universities, and the Democratic Party--are more concerned with status and privilege than justice and... More Info