• The Blue between Sky and Water
  • My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem
  • A People's History of the United States by Howard Zinn
  • Octopusbooks T-shirt
  • M Train by Patti Smith
  • New Christmas Tradition
  • Buy Nothing Day 2015

November 27 is Buy Nothing Day - We're Closed!!

As the year-end approaches keep in mind that an object will never make you happy. It might for a few minutes, maybe even days, but in the end your experiences are all you’ve got. So this year why not get your family together and do something wildly different. Ignore Black Friday. Try buying almost nothing for Christmas and you might experience the most joyous holiday season you’ve ever had. Buy nothing and experience everything.


What is Urban History

John Wiley & Sons | December 21, 2015 | 184 pages
Urban history is a well-established and flourishing field of historical research. This short introduction to the field, written by a leading scholar, demonstrates how urban history draws upon a wide variety of methodologies and sources, and has been integral to the rise of inter-disciplinary and... More Info

Light of Day

HarperTeen | November 24, 2015 | 320 pages
From the author of On the Edge and Snitch comes a dangerous, sexy novel perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles. When Gabby Perez is almost drugged at a nightclub, she decides to take action. Teaming up with a mysterious stranger known as X, the two go after a gang who is drugging and kidnapping... More Info

Girl Bullying

By Dr Sam
Crown House Publishing | September 30, 2015 | 120 pages
The complexities of modern day girl bullying are discussed alongside both pro-active and reactive strategies for intervening, managing and teasing out the intricacies that are present when girls bully, and fall prey to those bullies. The aim is to help adults working with girls to develop a toolbox... More Info

Inventing the Future

September 30, 2015 | 256 pages
A major new left manifesto for a technological future free from work.  More Info

Yasmin's Hammer

Lee & Low Books | September 15, 2015 |
In the noisy streets of Dhaka, Bangladesh, another busy morning is beginning as Yasmin rides to work in her father's rattling rickshaw. Yasmin longs to go to school so she can learn to read, but her family needs the money she and her sister earn at the brickyard to help keep the rice bag full and... More Info

Busca de la Música

Childrens Book Press | April 1, 2015 | 40 pages
"A young Latina girl accidentally breaks her grandfather's vihuela and searches for someone in the community to fix the instrument, which leads her to discover her grandfather's legacy as a mariachi. Includes an author's note and glossary"--  More Info

Anthologizing Canadian Literature

Wilfrid Laurier University Press | March 31, 2015 | 400 pages
The first collection of critical essays devoted to the study of English-Canadian literary anthologies brings together the work of thirteen prominent critics to investigate anthology formation in Canada and answer these key questions: Why are there so many literary anthologies in Canada, and how can... More Info

Indie Next Pick

"At age 21, Mary Broom was sentenced to hang for the crime of stealing a cloak. When her sentence was...

Staff Pick

Presenting radical new ways to think about love, the acclaimed cultural critic, feminist, and author...


2015 01 Dec
11:45am - 1:00pm

#GGBooks readings | Lectures publiques #LivresGG

Meet the authors, illustrators, and translators behind this year's winning #GGBooks!

Join us for FREE special readings of the Governor General's Literary Award winners. 


2015 01 Dec
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Octopus Book Club: Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell

George Orwell's dystopian masterpiece, Nineteen Eighty-Four is perhaps the most pervasively influential book of the twentieth century, making famous Big Brother, newspeak and Room 101.

2015 03 Dec
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Book Launch: Resilience and Triumph, Immigrant Women Tell Their Stories

Join The Book Project Collective at Octopus Books on December 3rd for the launch of Resilience and Triumph, an inspiring compilation of stories by immigrant women.

Tweets & Posts