• Photo by Scott Doubt
  • Book Display
  • Authors for Indies Day 2015

Shop Local, Shop Independent

When you shop local, you are supporting people who live and work in your community. Your money stays in the neighbourhood and helps to make the place you call home, a community.

$13.95

There's a Bug on My Book!

Dawn Publications (CA) | March 1, 2017 | 32 pages
Beetles fly, frogs hop, and slugs slide over the pages of this book, made to be read by a child while lying on the grass. Children interact with the book, with a tip, tap, and turn of the book, moving the critters along. The critters even interact with each other in surprising ways. John Himmelman... More Info
$13.95

Wonderful Nature, Wonderful You

Dawn Publications (CA) | March 1, 2017 | 32 pages
Nature can be a great teacher! With a light touch especially suited for children, Karin Ireland explores the lessons of nature and finds their relevance to all of us. She gracefully weaves together inspiration and fascinating fact. Nature becomes a metaphor for positive social and emotional... More Info
$18.95

Common Place

May 16, 2017 | 112 pages
What grows, survives, and thrives in urban landscapes and bodies challenged by systems of capital and power?  More Info
$22.99

The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie

HarperAvenue | April 25, 2017 | 372 pages
Engrossing historical fiction for readers of The Bride of New France and The Birth House, about one of Canada’s most inimitable pioneers and her struggles to survive in the wilderness, brought beautifully to life in this accomplished debut Teetering on the edge of gentile poverty, Englishwoman... More Info
$17.99

Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All

Harper Perennial | April 25, 2017 | 312 pages
A madcap new novel from the #1 internationally bestselling author Jonas Jonasson, author of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden A GANGSTER, A VICAR AND A RECEPTIONIST WALK INTO A BAR . . . Killer-for-hire Anders is fresh out of prison and trying... More Info
$22.99

Seven Days in May

HarperCollins Publishers | April 25, 2017 | 368 pages
For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history. As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail... More Info
$21.99

Moo Moo in a Tutu

Balzer + Bray | April 25, 2017 | 32 pages
In the classic tradition of George and Martha, Elephant and Piggie, and Frog and Toad comes Moo Moo and Mr. Quackers in their debut, Moo Moo in a Tutu. A cow who wants to be a ballerina? Are you for real? This is a hilarious, one-of-a-kind friendship story between an adventurous cow and a very... More Info

Indie Next Pick

"At age 21, Mary Broom was sentenced to hang for the crime of stealing a cloak. When her sentence was...

Staff Pick

Events

2018 08 Feb
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Curry: Eating, Reading, and Race, a Discussion with the Author Naben Ruthnum

No two curries are the same. This Curry asks why the dish is supposed to represent everything brown people eat, read, and do.

2018 28 Feb
7:00pm - 8:30pm

An Evening with Fiction writers Michael Mirolla and Claude Lalumiere

Michael Mirolla is the author of numerous novels, plays, and short story and poetry collections.

2018 02 Mar
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Making Space for Indigenous Feminism with Robyn Bourgeois and Mary Eberts

The first edition of Making Space for Indigenous Feminism proposed that Indigenous feminism was a valid and indeed essential theoretical and activist position, and introduced a roster of important Indigenous feminist contributors.

Tweets & Posts