• Celebrating International Women's Day, Buy Books!
  • Holiday Cookbooks
  • Read the Best
  • Octopusbooks T-shirt
  • Feb Picks Celebrating Black History Month

Featuring Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa!

On April 1st, we'll discuss Mornings in Jenin at our book club!  

Mornings in Jenin is now 20% off until April 1st.  

Books available both Octopus locations (116 Third Ave. & 251 Bank St. 2nd Floor).

More Info: http://octopusbooks.ca/octopus-book-club-spring-schedule.

$8.95

Amelia to Zora

Charlesbridge Publishing | March 31, 2015 | 32 pages
Profiles the extraordinary lives of twenty-six women who, through their acts and deeds, helped shape and change the world during their lifetime, including pilot Amelia Earhart and anthropologist Zora Neal Hurston. Reprint.  More Info
$19.99

The Hippest Trip in America

William Morrow Paperbacks | March 24, 2015 | 256 pages
An authoritative history of the groundbreaking syndicated television show that has become an icon of American pop culture, from acclaimed author and filmmaker Nelson George, “the most accomplished black music critic of his generation” (Washington Post Book World). When it debuted in October... More Info
$16.95

Avis Dolphin

April 1, 2015 | 160 pages
Avis Dolphin doesn't want to leave Canada and sail to England on the Lusitania. War is raging in Europe, and the Germans threaten to sink the ship. Avis is lonely and afraid until she meets a kindly professor whose stories of a magical island help her face an uncertain future. When the Lusitania is... More Info
$5.99

Pete the Cat: Construction Destruction

HarperFestival | March 24, 2015 | 24 pages
Pete the Cat builds a playground in New York Times bestselling artist James Dean's Pete the Cat: Construction Destruction. When Pete sees that the playground is in bad shape, he gets a totally groovy idea—make a new playground! Pete calls in construction workers and cement mixers, backhoes and... More Info
$18.95

Salsa

March 1, 2015 | 32 pages
In this new cooking poem, Jorge Argueta brings us a fun and easy recipe for a yummy salsa. A young boy and his sister gather the ingredients and grind them up in a molcajete, just like their ancestors used to do, singing and dancing all the while. The children imagine that their ingredients are... More Info
$21.99

Meet the Dullards

Balzer + Bray | March 24, 2015 | 32 pages
In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri. Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like... More Info
$18.95

Gandhi

Campfire | March 4, 2014 | 212 pages
In graphic novel format, introduces the life and accomplishments of the Indian political and spiritual leader who led his country to freedom from British rule through his policy of nonviolent resistance.  More Info

Indie Next Pick

Mink is a witness, a shape shifter, compelled to follow the story that has ensnared Celia and her...

Staff Pick

Events

2015 01 Apr
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Octopus Book Club - Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa.

We will discuss Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa at our 2nd book club meeting! Our leader for this discussion is Mujahed Kamil who is also from Jenine, a Palestinian city in the northern West Bank.

2015 07 Apr
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Nothing to Lose but Our Fear, Resistance in Dangerous Times with Fiona Jeffries

As the Egyptian revolution gained momentum in the winter of 2011, a common refrain echoed across Cairo’s Tahrir Square: “The wall of fear came down!” Mass protests against fear and authoritarianism have also rumbled across the aggrieved streets and plazas of Tunis, Athens, Madrid

2015 13 Apr
5:30pm - 7:30pm

Ottawa Launch of the Big Swim, Coming Ashore in a World Adrift by Carrie Saxifrage

According to George Marshall, author of Don’t Even Talk About It: Why Our Brains Are Wired to Ignore Climate Change, psychology tells us that decisions are made in our emotional brains which respond to stories and metaphors that draw upon experience.

Tweets & Posts