• MAY 15 - Rally for Hassan Diab!
  • To the Cloud Book Launch with Vincent Mosco
  • This Changes Everything
  • Monia Mazigh in conversation with Adrian Harewood

How to survive the looming coursebook crush

$18.50

Dirty Copper

Fulcrum Pub | June 1, 2014 | 204 pages
Dirty Copper continues the story of Luke Warmwater in this prequel to Walking the Rez Road.  More Info
$29.99

The Forks Over Knives Plan

Touchstone | September 16, 2014 | 336 pages
From the creators of the groundbreaking documentary (and bestselling books) Forks Over Knives comes a four-week plan, showing anyone how to transition to a delicious whole-food, plant-based diet. The trailblazing film Forks Over Knives exposed an entirely new generation to the whole-food,... More Info
$22.00

The Brother

Simon & Schuster | September 16, 2014 | 608 pages
“A fresh and fast-paced study of one of the most important crimes of the twentieth century” (The Washington Post), The Brother now discloses new information revealed since the original publication in 2003—including an admission by his sons that Julius Rosenberg was indeed a Soviet spy and a... More Info
$29.99

Cry Father

Gallery Books | September 16, 2014 | 320 pages
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence. For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he’s still dealing... More Info
$34.00

After Lincoln

Simon & Schuster | September 16, 2014 | 464 pages
A brilliant evocation of the post-Civil War era by the acclaimed author of Patriots and Union 1812. After Lincoln tells the story of the Reconstruction, which set back black Americans and isolated the South for a century. With Lincoln’s assassination, his “team of rivals,” in Doris Kearns... More Info
$11.50

Stillbirth, Yet Still Born

Fulcrum Pub | July 1, 2014 | 76 pages
Advice and comfort for surviving the death of your stillborn baby.  More Info
$21.99

Me & Dog

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | September 16, 2014 | 48 pages
This endearing friendship story about a boy and his dog from a Pulitzer Prize–winning writer gently explores a timeless question: who’s really in charge? Meet Sid. He’s an ordinary kid. He’s far from perfect. But to Murphy, Sid’s faithful dog, Sid is the whole world. Murphy thinks Sid is... More Info

Indie Next Pick

How do countries come to view themselves as being 'multicultural'? Us, Them, and Otherspresents a...

Staff Pick

The Winter We Danced is a vivid collection of writing, poetry, lyrics, art and images from the many...

Events

2014 23 Sep
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Resisting Canada’s Myths of War and Peacekeeping: three book launches with Jessica Squires, Luke Stewart, Sarah Hipworth & Stephen Dale!

Resisting Canada’s Myths of War and Peacekeeping! We are launching three books under this common theme with author Jessica Squires, Luke Stewart, Sarah Hipworth & Stephen Dale!

2014 25 Sep
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Film Screening: Revolutionary Medicine - a Story of the First Garífuna Hospital

In partnership with Cinema Politica, Octopus Books presents "Revolutionary Medicine" a documentary directed by Beth Geglia & Jesse Frees

2014 26 Sep
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Drives all Night Book Reading and Musical Performance by Jamie Anderson

7pm
Sept. 26 2014
Raw Sugar Cafe
692 Somerset St W,
Ottawa

Tweets & Posts