• Book Display
  • Authors for Indies Day 2017
  • Authors for Indies Day 2015
  • Store Display
  • Authors for Indies Day 2016

Authors for Indies Day!

It's Authors for Indies Day! Come on in to celebrate independent bookstores across the country with Ottawa-based authors on April 29. Joining us will be Joanne Proulx, Jared Young and Christine McNair. Each author will read from their most recent work and talk about their two favourite books for 10-15 minutes. Then we will open things up for conversation and mingling, Copies of their books will be available for purchase and signing! Reading starts at 3:30 PM!

$43.50

Krazy

Harper | December 6, 2016 | 560 pages
In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged—and the deep secret he explored through his art. The creator of the greatest comic strip in history finally gets his... More Info
$10.99

The Stolen Chapters

Aladdin | December 13, 2016 | 384 pages
Owen, Kiel, and Bethany confront secrets, stolen memories, and some very familiar faces in the second book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieves—which was called a “fast-paced, action-packed tale” by School Library Journal—from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.... More Info
$19.99

Lumberjanes Vol. 5

BOOM! Box | December 13, 2016 | 112 pages
The Lumberjanes meet rock n' roll mermaids! Excited for the annual Bandicoot Bacchanal, Ripley recruits her friends to help her get ready for the dance. But before the Lumberjanes know it, something mysterious begins to bubble to the surface of the lake near camp! Will the Lumberjanes be able to... More Info
$35.00

Harmony

Pamela Dorman Books | August 2, 2016 | 288 pages
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dogs of Babel, a taut, emotionally wrenching story of how a seemingly "normal" family could become desperate enough to leave everything behind and move to a "family camp" in New Hampshire--a life-changing experience that alters them forever. How far... More Info
$24.99

Goodbye Barbary Lane

Harper Perennial | December 6, 2016 | 880 pages
By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Armistead Maupin's bestselling Tales of the City novels—the final three of which are collected in this third omnibus volume—stand as an incomparable blend of great storytelling and incisive social commentary on American culture from the seventies through... More Info
$13.95

100 Birds to Fold and Fly

November 1, 2016 | 200 pages
100 full-colour, tear-out sheets featuring stylish artwork - simply tear a page out and follow the simple folding instructions (featured on gatefolds at the front and back of the book) to create one of four different decorative origami birds.  More Info
$15.95

My First Word Book about Things That Go

November 1, 2016 | 20 pages
Little children need to learn a huge amount of vocabulary before they start to read, and one of the best ways to help them is to share books with them. This book is a perfect vocabulary builder, with over a hundred words, each with a picture. Simply point to a picture and say the word and your... More Info

Indie Next Pick

"At age 21, Mary Broom was sentenced to hang for the crime of stealing a cloak. When her sentence was...

Staff Pick

In this collection of adventure rebus stories, Chirp snorkels for treasure, explores a jungle, flies to...

Events

2017 12 Jul
7:00pm - 8:30pm

A Samurai's Pink House Poetry Book Launch with Sonia Saikaley, Guy Simser, Claudia Radmore and Ryoko Itabashi

Join us for a night of poetry to celebrate Sonia Saikaley's new poetry book, A Samurai’s Pink House!

2017 27 Sep
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Cuba–U.S. Relations, Obama and Beyond Book Launch with Arnold August

Against the background of the history of Cuba–U.S. interconnectedness and in light of Obama’s ini­tiative and Trump’s election, Arnold August deals with the relationship between the two countries, delving into past and current U.S. aggression against Cuba’s artistic field, ideology and politics.

2017 25 Oct
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Kevin McKay on his new book Radical Transformation: Oligarchy, Collapse, and the Crisis of Civilization

Join author, professor and activist Kevin MacKay for a launch of his new book Radical Transformation:Oligarchy, Collapse, and the Crisis of Civilization!

Tweets & Posts