• Authors for Indies Day!
  • Authors for Indies Day
  • Store Display

Authors for Indies Day!

It's Authors for Indies Day! Come on in to celebrate independent bookstores across the country with Ottawa-based authors on April 29. Joining us will be Joanne Proulx, Jared Young and Christine McNair. Each author will read from their most recent work and talk about their two favourite books for 10-15 minutes. Then we will open things up for conversation and mingling, Copies of their books will be available for purchase and signing! Reading starts at 3:30 PM!

$36.50

Difficult Women

Grove Press | January 3, 2017 | 272 pages
"A collection of stories of ... hardscrabble lives, passionate loves, and quirky and vexed human connection"--  More Info
$12.50

Front Lines

Katherine Tegen Books | January 3, 2017 | 592 pages
Perfect for fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines. World War... More Info
$21.95

Plows, Plagues, and Petroleum

September 27, 2016 | 240 pages
The impact on climate from 200 years of industrial development is an everyday fact of life, but did humankind's active involvement in climate change really begin with the industrial revolution, as commonly believed? "Plows, Plagues, and Petroleum" has sparked lively scientific debate since it was... More Info
$4.99

Rappy Goes to the Supermarket

HarperCollins | January 3, 2017 | 32 pages
Rappy the Raptor is going to the grocery store. What a bore! But Rappy finds himself actually having fun…that is, until he tips over a HUGE display of toilet paper rolls. The manager is angry, but the quick-thinking Rappy uses his rhyming skills to save the day! Beginning readers will enjoy... More Info
$18.95

How to Clone a Mammoth

September 1, 2016 | 240 pages
Could extinct species, like mammoths and passenger pigeons, be brought back to life? The science says yes. "In How to Clone a Mammoth," Beth Shapiro, evolutionary biologist and pioneer in "ancient DNA" research, walks readers through the astonishing and controversial process of de-extinction. From... More Info
$38.99

Assassination of a Saint

January 24, 2017 | 256 pages
On March 24, 1980, the assassination of El Salvador's Archbishop �scar Romero rocked that nation and the world. Despite the efforts of many in El Salvador and beyond, those responsible for Romero's murder remained unpunished for their heinous crime. Assassination of a Saint is the thrilling story... More Info
$30.00

Tainted Witness

January 17, 2017 | 224 pages
In 1991, Anita Hill brought testimony and scandal into America's living rooms during televised Senate confirmation hearings in which she detailed the sexual harassment she had suffered at the hands of Clarence Thomas. The male Senate Judiciary Committee refused to take Hill seriously and the... More Info

Indie Next Pick

Staff Pick

The Winter We Danced is a vivid collection of writing, poetry, lyrics, art and images from the many...

Events

2017 25 Apr
7:00pm - 9:00pm

A Land Not Forgotten Book Launch with François Haman, Shinjini Pilon, Michael Robidoux and Desiree Streit

Food insecurity takes a disproportionate toll on the health of Indigenous peoples in Canada. A Land Not Forgotten examines the disruptions in local food practices as a result of colonization and the cultural, educational, and health consequences of those disruptions.

2017 29 Apr
3:30am - 5:00am

Reading in Celebration of Authors for Indies Day!

It's Authors for Indies Day! Come on in to celebrate independent bookstores across the country with Ottawa-based authors on April 29.

2017 04 May
6:00pm - 7:30pm

André Picard On His New Book MATTERS OF LIFE AND DEATH: Public Health Issues in Canada

Health issues have long occupied top headlines in Canadian media, and no journalist has written on public health with more authority or for as many years as André Picard. Matters of Life and Death collects Picard's most compelling columns, covering a broad range of topics including Canad

Tweets & Posts