• Photo by Scott Doubt
  • Book Display
  • Authors for Indies Day 2015

Shop Local, Shop Independent

When you shop local, you are supporting people who live and work in your community. Your money stays in the neighbourhood and helps to make the place you call home, a community.


Proving Ground

Minotaur Books | May 2, 2017 | 368 pages
Nathaniel Dresden never really got along with his father, an infamous civil rights lawyer who defended criminals and spearheaded protest movements. As an act of rebellion, Natty joined the U.S. Army and served in Iraq, coming back with a chest full of commendations and a head full of disturbing... More Info

Time Stoppers

Bloomsbury USA Childrens | May 2, 2017 | 400 pages
"A wild and fresh take on fantasy . . . I freaking loved it!" --Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanted series Discover the magical town of Aurora in this exhilarating first book in the Time Stoppers series--perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and The Five Kingdoms. Annie... More Info

No One Can Pronounce My Name

Picador USA | May 2, 2017 | 400 pages
"In a suburb outside Cleveland, a community of Indian Americans has settled into lives that straddle the divide between Eastern and Western cultures. For some, America is a bewildering and alienating place where coworkers can't pronounce your name but will eagerly repeat the Sanskrit phrases from... More Info

Bear's Big Day

Bloomsbury USA Childrens | May 2, 2017 | 32 pages
It's Bear's very first day of school! He wants to be grown up, so he leaves his stuffed bunny Floppy at home along with all his familiar things. But being away from his best friend is hard--and the first day doesn't turn out quite how Bear wanted it to. Bear learns that the first day of school... More Info

The Nix

Vintage | May 2, 2017 | 752 pages
A New York Times 2016 Notable Book Entertainment Weekly's #1 Book of the Year A Washington Post 2016 Notable Book A Slate Top Ten Book "Nathan Hill is a maestro." --John Irving It's 2011, and Samuel Andresen-Anderson hasn't seen his mother Faye in decades--not since she abandoned the family when he... More Info

Real Friends

First Second Books | May 2, 2017 | 224 pages
Newbery Honor author Shannon Hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends—and why it's worth the journey. When best friends are not forever . . . Shannon and Adrienne have been best friends ever since... More Info

My Brother's Husband

Pantheon | June 6, 2017 | 352 pages
"Originally published as Otouto no Otto by Futabasha Publishers Ltd., Tokyo, in 2014"--Title page verso.  More Info

Indie Next Pick

Staff Pick

Available for the first time in English, Ernesto Che introduces readers to this important figure s...


2018 21 Mar
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Unsettling the Commons Book Launch, author Craig Fortier in conversation with writer and activist Fiona Jeffries

Craig Fortier, author of Unsettling the Commons: Social Movements Within, Against, and Beyond Settler Colonialism will be joined by writer and activist Fiona Jeffries who is also the author of Nothing to Lose But Our Fear: Resistance in Dangerous Times to discuss this bo

2018 22 Mar
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Tear Gas From the Battlefields of WWI to the Streets of Today, Author Anna Feigenbaum in Conversation with ICLMG's Tim McSorley

One hundred years ago, French troops fired tear gas grenades into German trenches. Designed to force people out from behind barricades and trenches, tear gas causes burning of the eyes and skin, tearing, and gagging. Chemical weapons are now banned from war zones.

2018 24 Mar
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Bird-Bent Grass: A Memoir, in Pieces Book Launch with the Author Kathleen Venema

Bird-Bent Grass chronicles an extraordinary mother–daughter relationship that spans distance, time, and, eventually, debilitating illness.

Tweets & Posts