• Store Display
  • Authors for Indies Day

Happy New Year!!

“Bookselling was and is for me a cultural and political expression, an expression of progressive change, of challenge to oppressive authority, of a search for a community of values which can act as an underpinning of a better world. The true profit in bookselling is the social profit; the bottom line, the measure of the impact of the bookshop on the community.” - David Schwartz

$12.50

Front Lines

Katherine Tegen Books | January 3, 2017 | 592 pages
Perfect for fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines. World War... More Info
$46.95

A Culture of Corruption

Princeton University Press | March 16, 2008 | 296 pages
Professor:  Prof. Tiffany Y.Y. Liu
Course Codes:  ANTH 2620
Semester:  Winter-2017
E-mails proposing an "urgent business relationship" help make fraud Nigeria's largest source of foreign revenue after oil. But scams are also a central part of Nigeria's domestic cultural landscape. Corruption is so widespread in Nigeria that its citizens call it simply "the Nigerian factor."... More Info
$4.99

Rappy Goes to the Supermarket

HarperCollins | January 3, 2017 | 32 pages
Rappy the Raptor is going to the grocery store. What a bore! But Rappy finds himself actually having fun…that is, until he tips over a HUGE display of toilet paper rolls. The manager is angry, but the quick-thinking Rappy uses his rhyming skills to save the day! Beginning readers will enjoy... More Info
$20.95

Encounters at the heart of the World

Hill and Wang | March 17, 2015 | 480 pages
Professor:  Prof. Michel Hogue
Course Codes:  HIST 3904
Semester:  Winter-2017
Winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for History Encounters at the Heart of the World concerns the Mandan Indians, iconic Plains people whose teeming, busy towns on the upper Missouri River were for centuries at the center of the North American universe. We know of them mostly because Lewis and Clark... More Info
$28.95

An Underground Life

Univ of Wisconsin Press | June 1, 2000 | 176 pages
Professor:  Prof. Jennifer Evans
Course Codes:  HIST 2511
Semester:  Winter-2017
That a Jew living in Nazi Berlin survived the Holocaust at all is surprising. That he was a homosexual and a teenage leader in the resistance and yet survived is amazing. But that he endured the ongoing horror with an open heart, with love and without vitriol, and has written about it so... More Info
$30.00

Tainted Witness

January 17, 2017 | 224 pages
In 1991, Anita Hill brought testimony and scandal into America's living rooms during televised Senate confirmation hearings in which she detailed the sexual harassment she had suffered at the hands of Clarence Thomas. The male Senate Judiciary Committee refused to take Hill seriously and the... More Info
$12.50

Cat and Dog

HarperCollins | January 3, 2017 | 40 pages
“Woof, woof!” “Meow, meow!” Cat and dog, two playful pets, make the perfect zany match: whether the dog is taking a dip in the bird’s bath, or the cat is snacking on bones, the result is hilarious! The simple text by the author of Little Bear, Else Holmelund Minarik, is perfect for My... More Info

Indie Next Pick

With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on...

Staff Pick

Mink is a witness, a shape shifter, compelled to follow the story that has ensnared Celia and her...

Events

2017 26 Jan
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Songs Upon the Rivers Book Launch with Co-Author Sébastien Malette

Join us for an evening with author Sébastien Malette to discuss his latest book Songs Upon the Rivers: The Buried History of the French-Speaking Canadiens and Métis from the Great Lakes and the Mississippi across to the Pacific.

2017 31 Jan
7:00pm - 9:00pm

An Evening with Jim Bronskill and David McKie on Your Right To Privacy: Minimize Your Digital Footprint

Hacking, snooping, data mining: all commonplace in the digital era. At work, on the road, even at home, your personal information can be seen and shared, your privacy violated.

2017 07 Feb
4:00pm - 8:00pm

Book Club: Worldly Goods by Alice Pattersen

Please RSVP by e-mailing events@octopusbooks.ca

Tweets & Posts